Skip to content

Experimenting with Peppers & Prosciutto

March 13, 2009

At least once a week, I like to try a new recipe I’ve found online or in a magazine. It helps that my husband is a good sport and willing to try any new dish I make. A couple weeks, I decided to forgo a recipe from the magazines and come up with my own recipe using what I had in the house–chicken, prosciutto, red and yellow peppers, chicken broth and garlic. I do this every month or so, as you know from my posts about my Dolce Mele and Pear & Blue Cheese Risotto. My recipe (below) turned out well, although my husband’s only complaint was that the prosciutto was too muted. He loves prosciutto, so I can understand and agree with his desire for its flavor to be stronger in the dish. I’m still working on perfecting this, but I’m posting what I’ve done so far. Give it a try, and if you come up with any suggestions of your own for this, let me know!

img_0292

Served with orzo pasta and salad

Pollo con prosciutto e peperoni rosso e giallo (Chicken with Prosciutto & Red and Yellow Peppers)

Yields: 4 servings
Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons olive oil

4 chicken breasts

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

6 slices prosciutto, chopped

1/2 red pepper, sliced

1/2 yellow pepper, sliced

1 cup chicken broth

Salt & pepper to taste

img_0279

img_0281

Directions:

Pour olive oil into a large skillet over medium heat. Place chicken breasts in skillet and add a pinch of salt and pepper to each side. Cook evenly on both sides (approximately 5 minutes on each side). Add the chicken broth to the skillet and bring to a simmer. In a separate pan, saute prosciutto and garlic until prosciutto pieces just begin to darken and curl on the edges. Add the peppers and cook until just softened. Then, add the peppers, prosciutto, and garlic to the skillet with the chicken.

img_0284

Give it a quick stir and cover, cooking chicken and other ingredients for approximately 10 minutes. Serve with pasta or salad.

img_0291

*Note: You may want to skip the chicken broth all together and cook the chicken a little longer on its own before adding the additional ingredients. I will be trying this myself sometime in the next couple of weeks, and I will let you know how it turns out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2009 8:40 am

    This sounds delicious – I am trying to make something new every week, from the internet or from all the cookbooks that I need to get into more – love peppers and proscuitto and chicken-how about adding some capers, and/or fresh chopped basil to the dish!

  2. Liana permalink*
    March 17, 2009 10:20 am

    Thanks for the suggestion, Linda! Basil is one of my favorite ingredients, so I will definitely give it a try.

Leave a Reply

