Skip to content

Pasta with Asparagus and Prosciutto

May 20, 2009

When I’m buying a special ingredient, I try to coordinate our weekly menu so as not to let anything go to waste. For example, when I make a trip to Costco and buy prosciutto, my husband knows that prosciutto will appear in at least two dinners that week–not that he’s complaining.

Last week happened to be one of those I-bought-prosciutto-at-Costco weeks, and I wanted to try something new with it. Asparagus was on sale at the grocery store, and I thought I could combine the two into a pasta meal. I’ve seen Giada wrap asparagus with prosciutto, so I know the two go nicely, even if I don’t typically eat or cook with asparagus myself. Rather than looking up a pasta recipe with asparagus and prosciutto, like a normal person would do and of which I’m sure the internet is brimming with, I decided to wing it. I mean, how hard can it be?

My husband is not aparagus’ biggest fan by any means, but he loved it with the prosciutto. I’ve provided my version below. I hope you enjoy it!

Asparagus and Prosciutto Pasta

Serves: 4

Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

1-1/2 lbs. asparagus

1 lb. pasta (use penne or fusilli)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 Tablespoon olive oil + 2-3 Tablespoons olive oil

1/2 lb. prosciutto, diced

1/2 Tablespoon pepper

Directions:

Bring a pot of water to boil. Trim about an inch off the bottom stalks of asparagus. IMG_0874

Blanch the asparagus (Drop trimmed asparagus into boiling water and cook for 2 to 3 minutes before removing asparagus from hot water and dropping into ice water. This allows the asparagus to keep its color and crisper texture. It also halts the cooking process so they don’t get mushy). Once cooled, slice asparagus at an angle into one-inch pieces. IMG_0875

IMG_0878

Pour pasta noodles into same boiling water. Meanwhile, mince the garlic and dice the prosciutto. IMG_0877

Pour 1/2 Tablespoon olive oil into a skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic and saute until slightly browned. Add asparagus and stir until just coated by oil and garlic.

IMG_0881Remove from heat. Drain pasta and mix with asparagus and garlic. Add 2 to 3 Tablespoons olive oil and pepper to pasta. Mix and add prosciutto. Serve and enjoy!

IMG_0886

One Comment leave one →
  1. jennshine permalink
    June 4, 2009 12:50 am

    thought i’d try out my own recipe after seeing this one a few weeks ago ^_^ well i guess at the end of the day… my dish was completely different than what you posted here but i was inspired by the asparagus. i tried it with a light cream sauce and mushrooms instead of the olive oil and salmon instead of the prosciutto. turned out alright ^_^ mebbe i’ll post it on facebook sometime~~
    always enjoy reading your posts~ so talented. thank you for sharing your wonderful gifts ^_^

Leave a Reply

