Skip to content

Prosciutto-Wrapped Scallops

July 21, 2009

Prosciutto is a staple in our kitchen, and we put it in or on nearly everything. This is a great trick to get my husband to at least try something new. My husband claims to dislike fish, and rather than accept it at face value and not cook fish, I took it as a challenge to make him like fish.

I decided to make scallops wrapped in prosciutto as I figured the prosciutto would overpower the scallops. Boy, was I wrong. I forgot how “fishy” scallops are. One whiff of them cooking in the oven and he practically bolted out of the kitchen. When they were cooked and after much prompting, he took one little bite with his nose scrunched up like a 5-year-old who is being forced to eat his broccoli. He didn’t like it. I thought they were pretty good, but I also love fish.

A few nights later, I cooked salmon. Who can refuse salmon?! Apparently, my husband. So, I’ve now learned my lesson, and I no longer buy expensive fish to have him turn up his nose at it.  I only cook fish for myself when he’s coaching a late basketball game. And the occasional spiedini when he asks for it.

So, if you like fish, give my prosciutto-wrapped scallops a try. And please let me know if you like it!

Prosciutto-wrapped scallops

Servings: 2

Time: 15 minutes preparation & cooking

Ingredients:

6 scallops

salt and pepper to taste

6 slices of prosciutto

IMG_1011

Directions:

Place the scallops in a baking dish. Sprinkle salt and pepper on top. Flip scallops and repeat. Wrap each scallop with one slice of prosciutto and place back in dish. PLace baking dish in a preheated 350 degree oven and bake for 5 to 10 minutes, or until scallops lose their opaqueness and prosciutto edges just begin to crisp.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

