Skip to content

Improvised Berry-Peach Cobbler

August 9, 2009

I try to be really good about writing out a shopping list before going grocery shopping for the week. Typically, planning out our dinner menus for the week and going shopping prepared helps me to spend less and stick just to what we need for the week rather than stocking up on snacks and other things we don’t need.

The other week, while grocery shopping, I strayed from my plan. I had a huge craving for something sweet–something crumbly and fruity. I had seen a recipe in Cooking Light that I had been wanting to try and decided to buy all the ingredients to make it that night for dessert.

I couldn’t remember all the ingredients,  so when I got home and prepared to make it, I had to improvise with what I already had in the kitchen. Below is my modified version from the July 2009 issue. Visit them online to find their original recipe (the link can be found in the sidebar). I was very happy with the results of my improvised version, and I’ve made it several times since that night. Each time, it’s been a big hit with my husband and our guests.

Berry-Peach Cobbler

Ingredients

Filling:

3 (6-oz.) packages fresh blueberries

3 (6-oz.) packages fresh blackberries (I’ve used frozen as well)

3 medium peaches, peeled and sliced

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2-1/2 Tablespoons cornstarch

Topping:

1 cup flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 Tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

6 Tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces

1/2 cup half and half

4 Tablespoons brown sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. To prepare filling, combine blueberries, blackberries, and peaches in a 13×9-inch baking pan lightly coated with cooking spray. Sprinkle 2/3 cup granulated sugar and 2-1/2 Tablespoons cornstarch on top. Toss gently to combine.

IMG_1058

To prepare topping, combine flour, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, 2 Tablespoons cornstarch and baking powder. Cut butter into flour mixture with a pastry cutter until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Add half and half; gently knead dough just until moistened. Drop dough by hand (or spoonfuls) evenly over top of filling. Sprinkle brown sugar on top. Bake for 50 minutes, or until topping is browned. Let cool for 10 minutes. Serve along or with vanilla ice cream, and enjoy!

IMG_1044

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

