Skip to content

Sun-dried Tomato & Pesto Baked Brie

September 13, 2009

I apologize that I have been so remiss in posting recently. In case anyone is still out there checking my blog (anyone?), I apologize that the craziness of life has kept me away from writing: I’ve entered my busy work season, my husband is back at school, and now that we’re in fall (it’s safe to say we’re in fall, right?) everything starts up again…classes, Bible studies, Friday night football games. You know the drill.

Anyway, we’ve been experiencing some extremely hot days here the past week or so. You know, the kind of hot when you walk outside and feel like you’re going to melt in the shade, and your AC is running continuously throughout the day (even when you have it set to the quite generous and warm 76 degrees). Those hot days translate into hot-don’t-feel-like-cooking nights.

Neither my husband nor I felt super hungry, and since I still had to go grocery shopping for the week, there wasn’t a whole lot of options for dinner. I used what I had in the fridge to make sun-dried tomato and pesto baked brie, which I typically make as an appetizer. The baked brie creates a crunchy outer layer that envelopes the creamy, slightly melted brie that drips with pesto sauce and sun-dried tomatoes. We spread the baked brie on thin slices of french bread. Not necessarily the healthiest of dinners, but it was just perfect for a “light” dinner and the savory flavor is one that will keep your taste buds begging for more.

Sun-dried Tomatoes & Pesto Baked Brie

Ingredients

2 layers of fillo dough

1 block of brie

1/2 cup pesto sauce

sun-dried tomatoes

2 Tablespoons butter, melted

Directions

On a baking sheet, place two layers of fillo dough. Set the block of brie on top of the dough.

IMG_1068Spread the pesto sauce on top of the brie, and place the sun-dried tomatoes on top of the pesto sauce.

IMG_1072Fold the fillo dough over the brie. Brush the melted butter all over the fillo dough until nicely coated. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes, or until fillo dough is brown and slightly crunchy. Serve and enjoy!

IMG_1076

IMG_1079

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 7:36 am

    I do and always enjoy them. I think you should do a series of some kind: sandwiches (loved the sandwich post), or maybe some kind of “from scratch” series. It would also be cool to see a weekly themed post – like every Friday you link to an internet or print resource you use a lot and tell us about it.

Leave a Reply

