Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Demy

September 25, 2009
tags:

Last week I had this great plan for a challenge this week and a post for today. I had planned on going to a local Pick-Your-Own farm (it’s about 15 minutes away) this week, after feeling particularly inspired from last week’s post about Eating Locally. Alas, with the California wildfires, it was not meant to be. The air quality has been so poor that I decided against spending several hours outside under the haze of wildfire smoke. It’s also been gruelingly hot, so the combination of the two convinced me to postpone my picking for another week when we’re not in triple-digit temperatures and no longer experiencing Southern California wildfires. This all means that you will have to wait for the challenge and post for another week (next week, weather permitting?)

In the meantime, I received an email (I somehow wound up on all kinds of food product email lists) about this fairly new product. It’s a great electronic device!

Here are some of its key features:

  • It will hold up to 2,500 recipes.
  • It has a splash-resistant, LCD touch screen.
  • It has three kitchen timers.
  • It has adjustable fonts ( in case you’re blind like I am).
  • It provides measurement conversions (in case you’re using a European cookbook that doesn’t contain measurements in cups and teaspoons like American cookbooks).
  • It contains an ingredient substitution dictionary.

I would put up a picture, but I don’t want to infringe upon any copyright laws, so check out their website.

Sounds pretty neat, huh? You can upload recipes to the Demy (did I already mention that it’s called a Demy?!), placing it conveniently on your counter when you need it for reference. Oh, did I also mention that it will set you back a handsome $299.95?!? I was quite intrigued by this little device until I saw the price. Do you know how many cookbooks I could buy with that amount of money!?

While there are some very cool features in the Demy, there is something sort of magical about opening up a cookbook. With it’s pages of ingredients and photos of mouth-watering dishes, it’s full of infinite possibilities. My favorite cookbooks are those cookbooks that have been used so often that they fall open to pages containing recipes that have been made so often that you don’t really need the recipe any more to make the dish. It’s really more about the memories of the first time you made it or how it’s your husband’s favorite pasta rather than actually needing a reminder of how to make it. The cookbook itself is a reminder of all the memories of making the recipe in the past and the memories that are to come as you make it again or try a new one within its pages. As cool and convenient as the Demy may be, I think I’ll stick with my cookbooks, especially the ones that have splash marks on their pages.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

