Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Squash

October 2, 2009

Now that October has arrived, the air feels cooler; the leaves are turning yellow and orange, and freshly picked squash is filling the rows of the farmers’ market.

OK, to be honest, the first two aren’t really applicable where we live, as the temperature has yet to dip below 80 degrees and the leaves are still showing off their green in the breeze. But, squash is filling our local farmers’ market.

I love the fall, especially the hearty foods that we get to enjoy fresh during this season. My favorite at the moment is squash. Zucchini, in particular, is one of my favorite vegetables. It has a sweet, almost delicate flavor. You can eat is raw, saute it lightly in oil or butter, dip it in flour and fry it, bake it, or put it in soup or sauce. It’s so versatile and so good!

IMG_1359

My farmers' market zucchini

Because I love cooking and eating zucchini, I bought four beautiful little zucchini at the farmers’ market yesterday with the plan of making something delicious to share with my neighbors. There is something about the fall and winter months that makes me feel like cooking for other people–more so than any other season. I’m guessing this is because the fall and winter months are not as hot as the rest of the year so standing over an oven or stove is a happier thought.

Look for my recipe and pictures to follow of my yummy zucchini dish in the next few days. For now, check out this zucchini recipe for a delicious fried zucchini dish. It’s a good one!

Do you have a favorite squash? Zucchini? Pumpkin? Butternut? Acorn? Share your favorite squash, and I’ll feature a recipe with that squash this month in Flavorful Fridays. Feel free to challenge me with a squash I haven’t mentioned!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 6:48 am

    Yum – fried zucchini. A favorite.

    I got some acorn squash in my csa box and I’ve never made it before. I’d love a recipe or just a tip. Off-topic (a little): I’m upset because I broke my blender and it’s pumpkin season. I usually do a couple of pumpkin purees in preparation of pies.

  2. Lisa permalink*
    October 6, 2009 4:00 pm

    I was watching Alton Brown on the Food Network yesterday do a thing about squash. Spaghetti squash sounded the best.

Trackbacks

  1. Flavorful Fridays: Zucchini « Tomatoes and Basil

Leave a Reply

