Skip to content

Pasta Alfredo with Chicken & Green Onion

October 6, 2009

The other night, as I was trying to decide what to make for dinner (one of the few times I hadn’t created our weekly dinner menu ahead of time), something triggered my memory of an alfredo pasta that my mom used to make–before she became super health conscious and kicked the cream-sauce pasta dinners to the curb. This particular alfredo pasta had a kick to it. I remembered it had chicken and a green vegetable. I couldn’t remember exactly what the “green vegetable” was but I thought it might be green onion. Since my mom and dad were in Italy, I couldn’t call my mom to ask her, so I decided to make the alfredo pasta with chicken and green onion to see how it would turn out.

Turns out my memory was correct. The green onion was the perfect compliment to the alfredo sauce and chicken. It provides a little bit of a flavorful edge. It’s alfredo pasta with an attitude. Give it a try. You may not return to plain alfredo sauce.

Pasta Alfredo with Chicken & Green Onion

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

Pinch of salt and pepper

1 lb. of fettucine pasta

3 stalks of green onion

Alfredo Sauce (look below for the recipe)

Directions:

Grill or cook on the stove top 2 chicken breasts. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper. Cut into bite-size pieces. Meanwhile, in a pot, cook the fettucine until al dente. Drain the pasta and place into serving dish. Pour alfredo sauce (recipe below) onto pasta and mix well. Cut the onion into 1/4 inch slices and sprinkle atop the pasta. Mix onion and chicken into pasta. Serve and enjoy.

IMG_1332

IMG_1334

Alfredo Sauce
Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:
1/4 cup butter
1 1/2 cup whipping cream
pinch of pepper
pinch of nutmeg
3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:
Melt together butter and whipping cream in saucepan over low heat. Mix in pepper and nutmeg, stirring until well incorporated. Add Parmesan cheese until completely combined.

IMG_1336

Stay tuned…the zucchini recipe I promised last week will be posted later this week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

