Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Zucchini

October 9, 2009

As I mentioned in my Flavorful Fridays post last week, zucchini is my favorite vegetable in the squash family. I love its delicate flavor and its versatility in almost any dish.

Rather than giving you a recipe that you might expect…like a soup or appetizer, I’ve decided today’s post will give you the recipe to make Zucchini Bread. That’s right, zucchini bread. It has the density of banana bread or pumpkin bread, but instead it’s made with zucchini and pineapple. I realize that this may sound like an odd combination to some of you, but let me tell you, the flavor is sweet and the pineapple and zucchini perfectly compliment each other without competing for first place on your taste buds.

This recipe is a family favorite, although, I unfortunately do not know where my mom found it. Let me know what you think of it. I’d love to hear how your zucchini bread turned out!

Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

3 eggs, beat well

1 cup vegetable oil

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups zucchini, grated

8-1/2 ounces crushed pineapple

3 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1-1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

Combine all wet ingredients in one bowl, and all dry ingredients in another. Slowly mix the dry mixture to the wet, making sure everything is mixed evenly.

Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees. This makes two loaves.

IMG_1362 IMG_1364

IMG_1371 IMG_1376

Stayed tuned for next week’s Flavorful Friday, when I will have a recipe for acorn squash (sorry your blender broke, Beth!). I’m experimenting with acorn squash from the farmers’ market for next week! Also, if you have a favorite squash or have run across squash that you don’t know what to do with, leave a comment, and I’ll come up with a recipe for you!

IMG_1377

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy Althausen permalink
    October 13, 2009 5:12 pm

    I made this bread yesterday and it was very good! It was nice that it didn’t take long to make. My mom requested that I substitute honey for sugar and it still turned out nicely. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  2. Liana permalink*
    October 13, 2009 9:51 pm

    I’m glad it turned out so good for you, Tracy! What a great idea for substituting honey for the sugar. I’ll have to try that next time I make zucchini bread! Thanks for the tip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

