Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Acorn Squash

October 16, 2009

I’ve come to the realization that there are very few varieties of squash that I’ve actually cooked with. This month of Flavorful Fridays has opened my kitchen to a whole new world of produce and recipes. Thank you to everyone who contributed a suggestion. Beth suggested acorn squash, so I found a tasty (and simple!) acorn squash recipe.

IMG_1384Acorn squash is part of the winter squash family. The most common variety has dark green skin and yellow-orange flesh. It’s typically about the size of a softball. Acorn squash has a slightly nutty flavor, which translates well into savory and sweet dishes.

Since I had not previously cooked with acorn squash, I did some research to find what might be the best recipe to try. Nearly every resource I uncovered for acorn squash has the same basic ingredients–acorn squash, brown sugar, and butter. How can you go wrong with that, right?! The brown sugar and butter sweeten the squash, creating an almost dessert-like treat for your taste buds. My friend Jill stopped by just after I pulled the baked squash from the oven, so of course I convinced her to try it. We both loved the sweet flavor, and Jill suggested serving it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream in the center. I love that idea! (Thanks, Jill!) Squash for dessert with minimal clean-up…yum. Give this recipe a try, and let me know how you like this sweet acorn squash recipe.

Baked Acorn Squash with Brown Sugar & Butter

Ingredients:

Servings: 2

1 acorn squash, cut in half

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

2 Tablespoons butter, softened

*Optional: 1 Tablespoon cinnamon (I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top before the brown sugar and butter)

* Optional: 2 Tablespoons maple syrup (this was Paula Dean’s suggestion)

IMG_1386

IMG_1387

Directions:

Scoop seeds and stringy pulp out of the squash and discard. (Note: I used an ice cream scoop to scoop out the seeds. They came out quickly and easily with hardly any mess). In a small mixing bowl, combine the brown sugar and butter (and maple syrup, if you choose). Rub the empty cavities of the squash with mixture and place on baking sheet, cut side up. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour (until squash is tender when pierced with a fork). Serve and enjoy!

IMG_1391

Challenge! Since we will be looking at Spaghetti Squash next week, whoever can correctly identify why it’s called “spaghetti” squash before I post next Friday will receive a prize.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 5:23 pm

    Sounds delicious! I made some great stuffed acorn squash over the weekend.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/moroccan-style-stuffed-acorn-squashes/

Leave a Reply

