Skip to content

Pumpkin Pie

November 24, 2009

In honor of Thanksgiving being a mere two days away (and since I made pumpkin pie to go with our early Thanksgiving turkey dinner), it only seems fitting to post the recipe and photos for pumpkin pie. I hadn’t made pumpkin pie before, so I actually adapted the recipe on the back of the Libby’s pumpkin puree (I know! I would have cooked my own pumpkin for the pie, but if you take a look at last week’s Flavorful Fridays, you will see that I had already fully employed my oven and stove top burners).

Happy Thanksgiving!

Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients:

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 ground cloves

2 eggs

1 can (~15 oz.) Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin

1 can (12 fl. oz.) evaporated milk

pie crust (I made my own crust, but you can also use an unbaked pie shell)

Directions:

Mix sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves in a small bowl. Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk.

Pour into pie crust. Bake in preheated oven at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Without removing pie, reduce temperature to 350 degrees and bake for 45 minutes (or until a knife inserted near center comes out clean). Cool for an hour. Serve with homemade whipped cream and enjoy!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

