Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Feast of the Seven Fishes

December 18, 2009

 

Photo by BPLOL of XSC

Both Nicole and Monica were correct in their guesses for Wednesday’s challenge (and yes, foodies are always welcome to answer my challenges!). Italians and Italian Americans typically eat fish on Christmas Eve. Many Italian Americans have a Feast of Seven Fishes, a Christmas Eve dinner consisting of seven different types of fish (usually this includes baccala, calamari, and lobster). It’s believed that they chose the number seven because it’s a holy number (the number of perfection; the seven sacraments).

My family doesn’t celebrate a traditional Feast of Seven Fishes but we do follow with the tradition of eating fish with a delicious cioppino; and the cioppino my Nonno makes contains several different types of seafood. Look for my family’s cioppino recipe sometime early next week (just in time for Christmas!). Congratulations to both Nicole and Monica for correctly answering the challenge question. Because it’s Christmas, both of you will receive a prize. Check out the Christmas Gift Giving Guide I page and let me know which prize you would like. You can also opt for a specialty olive oil if you prefer.

Merry Christmas!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 5:33 pm

    Liana, you are too kind. I’ll go for the Silpat — I’ve been wanting one of those for a while! I hope you and Will have a great Christmas!

  2. Liana permalink*
    December 18, 2009 5:53 pm

    Good choice, Nicole. I’ll make sure I have the Silpat for you the next time we get together–which by the way, we are way overdue for dinner! I hope you and Andrew have a wonderful Christmas, too!

  3. Monica permalink
    December 22, 2009 10:36 am

    May I please have some biscotti? The Chocolate kind please=)

Leave a Reply

