Skip to content

Double Chocolate Biscotti

December 19, 2009

Christmastime is one of my favorite times of the year–a time to celebrate the precious gift of Jesus, a time to slow down and reconnect with family, and a time to indulge in sweet treats.

As you know by now, I love baking and cooking for other people, and Christmastime is one of the few times throughout the year that my neighbors don’t look surprised and a little hesitant to see me on their doorstep with a plateful of tempting delights for them. Like last year, I baked some of my traditional Christmas cookies–speculaas, pecan sandies, chocolate crackles–that can be found in my Christmas cookie baking post from last year (here). This year, I added a new, more traditional Italian cookie to my plates.

Christmastime, in terms of sweet desserts, reminds me of panettone (especially since it appears in pyramids in grocery stores at the beginning of December) and biscotti. Personally, I’ve never been a fan of panettone. I know this is a traditional Milanese Christmas treat and as one of my friends put it, “You should like it, you’re Italian!”, but my taste buds have never been able to acclimate to the raisins and other dried fruit in this somewhat-dry cake–it’s sort of like an Italian fruitcake.

I do, however, love biscotti! Biscotti (Italian for cookie) are usually cut in long, crunchy strips, which are perfect for dunking in coffee, hot chocolate, or milk. My mom traditionally makes pistachio and cranberry biscotti, stacking them to create a Christmas tree before drizzling an orange-zest frosting over the top. It’s an extremely stunning dessert to put on the table during a Christmas party. I didn’t get the recipe from my mom before making my sheets of cookies for neighbors, so I found a recipe online for Double Chocolate Biscotti (since I love chocolate, I thought I might as well give it a try). It’s from Allrecipes.com; however, as I tend to do, I altered it a bit (below). You could probably add nuts or more (or less) chocolate if you wanted. Also, I’m not a huge fan of chunks of white chocolate, so next time I make this, I plan on grating the white chocolate into the batter instead of using the chips.

Double Chocolate Biscotti

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 eggs

1-3/4 cups flour

1/3 cup white chocolate chips

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Gradually add in cocoa powder and baking powder, mixing for 2 minutes. Beat in eggs one at a time. Stir in flour. Mix in white and semisweet chocolate chips. Cover dough and chill for 10 minutes.

Preheat over to 325 degrees. Divide dough in half, and roll each half into a 9-inch flattened log (thick oval disk). Place logs on lightly greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 20 minutes. Cool on a cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring (carefully!) to a wire rack to cool for an hour.

Cut each loaf into 1/2 wide diagonal slices (use a sharp kitchen knife). Place slices cut-side down on ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 325 degrees for 8 minutes. Turn cookies over to other cut-side and bake for 7 minutes (or longer if you want your biscotti extra crunchy). Cool completely. Serve and enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 12:21 pm

    Yum. Do we get some when we visit?

Leave a Reply

