Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Chicken with Prosciutto & Mozzarella

January 15, 2010

Do you ever have those days where suddenly you find yourself at dinner time, and you have yet to prepare anything, let alone even think about dinner? Monday night was that night for me. It was a busy work day, and I hadn’t found time to get to the grocery store when Will called to let me know he was on his way home. I felt wholly unmotivated to cook, but I also didn’t want to reach for the pizza delivery number.

Looking in our refrigerator, I pulled some various leftover ingredients we had and decided to concoct something from what we had. I cooked some cut chicken breasts on the stove top and placed the remaining slices of prosciutto (leftover from prosciutto pizza earlier in the week) over the cooked chicken. After the prosciutto started to melt, I sprinkled grated mozzarella over the prosciutto and let is also melt before serving. Will went wild over this super simple dinner, which is why I’m sharing it with you.

I typically have prosciutto and mozzarella in the fridge, and I always have chicken breasts in the freezer. Chicken is one of the most versatile meats, so have fun experimenting with my recipe below, and please let me know what you come up with!

Chicken with Prosciutto & Mozzarella

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon olive oil

2 chicken breasts, halved and slightly pounded

Salt and freshly grated pepper

4 slices of prosciutto

1/2 cup grated mozzarella

Directions:

Pour olive oil in pan over medium heat. Place thinned chicken breasts in pan. Sprinkle a pinch of salt and freshly grated pepper over chicken for seasoning. Cook chicken through, and place prosciutto on top of chicken. Cook until slightly melted, about 1 minute. Add grated mozzarella cheese on top of prosciutto and let melt, about 1 minute. Serve and enjoy!


One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 8:09 pm

    love the simplicity of this dish. i usually have these ingredients in the fridge – perfect weeknight meal. thanks!!

Leave a Reply

