Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Prosciutto & Pea Risotto

April 9, 2010

Last weekend was a big weekend for my family. Not only was it Easter, it also happened to mark a big birthday milestone for my aunt and my cousin (they were born a week apart). So, Will and I traveled up to the Bay Area to join in the celebratory weekend.

For the double birthday, we went to lunch at the North Beach Restaurant in San Francisco. This restaurant is in the heart of North Beach (the Italian district). The food was wonderful, and it was like being at home, with the long tables and casual atmosphere. After our meal, some of us went downstairs to their rooms of prosciutto. Oh. My. Goodness. That is my kind of place. On the other side of the wall from their wine cellar (which had more wine than I have ever seen in my life), they had two rooms from whose ceilings dangled more prosciutto than our family would ever be able to eat in a lifetime (and we can put away a lot of prosciutto). Too bad we couldn’t take one home…

Anyway, since then I’ve been thinking about my favorite recipes that use prosciutto. To be honest, there are a lot. One of my favorites, that I’m surprised I haven’t shared yet, is Prosciutto & Pea Risotto. It is one of my go-to recipes when we make last minute plans with company or a friend is stopping by on their way through town.  You may be thinking prosciutto and peas? Together? But, seriously, they compliment each other so nicely, and the creaminess of the risotto makes it a heavenly combination. I hope you enjoy it as much as Will and I do!

Prosciutto & Pea Risotto

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 medium-sized onion, finely chopped

1-1/4 cup arborio rice

3 Tablespoons white wine

1 quart chicken or vegetable broth

1 cup peas

1/3 cup Parmesan cheese

1 cup prosciutto, chopped

Directions:

Bring broth to a simmer in a saucepan. Heat butter and olive oil in a large pot over medium-low heat. Once butter is melted, add chopped onions. Sauté until onions are translucent and soft. Add arborio rice, stir to coat with oil, and cook until grains start to “pop,” approximately 2 minutes. Add white wine. Once wine cooks down, add broth one 1/2 cup at a time, allowing rice to soak up the broth before adding more. Continue stirring and adding broth until rice is cooked and creamy. A good indication that the rice is ready is when a wooden spoon can stand straight up in the rice. Stir in peas, allowing to cook for an additional 2 minutes. Add Parmesan cheese, stirring constantly. Once Parmesan has been completely incorporated, take the pot off the burner and stir in prosciutto. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

