Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Prosciutto, Pesto, & Fontina Panini

April 23, 2010

So, in keeping with my trend of posting prosciutto related recipes on my Flavorful Fridays this month (totally a coincidence, I might add), I decided to share my newest creation from last night’s dinner.

I have my cake decorating class on Thursday nights, so I usually try to find a relatively simple and quick dinner so that Will and I can eat together before I head off to class. Thankfully, my wonderful husband is as much a fan of a delicious sandwich as he is a delicious plate of pasta.

I raided our fridge for ingredients–I used Cracked Wheat Sourdough Bread, a jar of pesto, several slices of prosciutto, and fontina cheese (this tastes somewhat like mozzarella). I figured that these would create a lovely combination. The pesto was perfect with the prosciutto and melted fontina. If you try this, be sure not to overload on the pesto. You want the pesto to compliment not overwhelm the flavor from the prosciutto and fontina. You could probably add arugula and tomatoes for a healthier version, but I opted not for the sake of time (I know, it doesn’t take that much extra time to wash and cut tomatoes and arugula). I hope you enjoy this!

Prosciutto, Pesto, & Fontina Panini

Servings: 2 sandwiches

Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

4 slices of sourdough bread

1-1/2 Tablespoons of pesto

8 slices of prosciutto

8 slices of fontina cheese

Directions:

Spread pesto over one side of sliced bread (one per sandwich). Add 4 slices of prosciutto to each sandwich. Add the sliced fontina cheese. Place slices of bread together, and place closed sandwich on a panini grill for approximately 2 minutes, or until cheese begins to melt. Cut sandwich in half. Serve and enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

