Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Cotolette alla Milanese

May 14, 2010

There are no vegetarians in my family–neither the one I was born into nor the one I married into. Every male on both sides of the family believe that no dinner meal is complete without meat of some kind making an appearance (although, I have been attempting to make it a small part of the meal so we’re not spending as much money on groceries or eating so much red meat during the week). This being said, I’m always looking for new kinds of meat to make and different ways of flavoring various kinds of meat to make it seem new and exciting. Cotolette alla Milanese is one of those dishes that I knew would be a crowd pleaser. Cotolette (pronounced: coat-o-let-tay) refers to the manner in which the meat is prepared–meat fried in breadcrumbs. I remember my cousin making this often while I was in Italy, and she used veal cutlets, so I splurged on the veal and make cotolette alla milanese for Will. He loved the depth of flavor–the flavor of the meat, the seasonings, the breadcrumbs. It all came together for a delicious (part of the) meal. You don’t have to use veal for cotolette alla milanese. Feel free to use turkey or chicken instead. This is a dish that also goes great with a cream-based pasta!

Cotolette alla Milanese

Ingredients:

4 thin veal cutlets

Salt and pepper

2 Tablespoons flour

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup breadcrumbs

4 Tablespoons butter

Directions:

Season the cutlets with salt and pepper. Dip them first in a little flour, shaking off the excess. Then, dip them in beaten egg and then into the breadcrumbs. Press the breadcrumbs into place with your hand. Melt the butter in a skillet and cook the cutlets for a few minutes on each side, until the coating is golden and the meat inside is tender. Serve and enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Madlyn permalink
    January 20, 2011 3:49 pm

    I make these with chicken. I also use Italian seasoned bread crumbs that I add garlic powder, salt and pepper and parsley to. Veal is too expensive. I fry them in EVOO. They are great.

    • Liana permalink*
      May 11, 2011 10:19 am

      Sounds delicious! I’ll have to try making them with chicken and adding more seasoning to my bread crumbs. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

