Skip to content

Spinach & Ricotta Pasta

June 21, 2010

With how busy life has been–work projects, weekend travels, and cake decorating–I haven’t really had time or energy to experiment with our dinner menu. This has also led to a more sporadic turn in my weekly meal planning and grocery shopping. So last week, as it was getting rather late for dinner, I rummaged through the cupboards and fridge to  find something–anything–I could make into a meal for us. (Let’s be honest, I could have gone to the store, but that was plan B).

We always have pasta in the cupboards (what good Italian-American doesn’t always have pasta on hand?). I looked for something that would go with pasta. I had a half a pound of frozen spinach in the freezer, a block of Parmesan cheese, and a container of ricotta that was nearing its expiration date. According to my growling stomach, this would have to do.

I cooked the pasta, and in a skillet, I combined the spinach, ricotta, Parmesan, and spices. I thought of an inside out “stuffed shell.” The final product was good. Will thought it had a little too much spinach (but he’s not a huge fan of cooked spinach anyway). The pasta felt very light and fresh to me. I think next time I make this, I might add some sun-dried tomatoes (which I was fresh out of at the time). If you have any thoughts of what else could be added to this, I’d love to hear them!

Spinach & Ricotta Pasta

Ingredients:

1 lb. of fusilli (or some other kind of small pasta)

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1/2 lb. of fresh or frozen spinach

1 8-oz. container ricotta

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 Tablespoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Cook the pasta in a pot of boiling water. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Add spinach and saute until slightly wilted (or hot to the touch, if using frozen spinach). Add ricotta, Parmesan, nutmeg, pepper, and salt. Mix thoroughly. Add cooked pasta to spinach and ricotta mixture, stirring until well combined. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

