Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Pasta with Fresh Tomatoes & Basil

September 3, 2010

Recently, I’ve been on a major pasta kick (more so than usual!). Maybe because I’ve started working out again regularly, my body is craving carbs; or maybe because now that it’s September, my brain is telling me it’s time for warm comfort food, in spite of the still 90 degree weather we have. Whatever it is, I’ve been making more pasta, and more pasta means that we need more pasta choices!

I found some great organic cherry tomatoes on sale this week and bought them, knowing that I would find something delicious to make with them. As you probably know, Will and I love our caprese pasta. It’s our go-to recipe on any random weeknight, and often for company as well (but, I think we’ve made it for all our friends, so we need to come up with different dishes to make!). I didn’t have any fresh mozzarella in the fridge, but the caprese pasta sounded good, so I improvised. I sauted a little garlic in olive oil before adding the cherry tomatoes and cooking those until just slightly tender. I added the pasta to the cherry tomatoes and mixed it well over the heat before adding Parmesan and chopped basil. Oh. My. Goodness. The heat brought out the tomatoes’ delicious juice. It was still a light and fresh dish. I will definitely add this into our rotation of go-to pasta dishes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomatoes and Basil

Ingredients:

1 lb. package fettucine

1-1/2 Tablespoons olive oil

2-3 garlic cloves, minced

3 cups cherry tomatoes, halved

1/2 teaspoon salt

1-1/2 cups basil, julienned

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

3/4 cup fresh Parmesan cheese, grated

Directions:

Bring water to boil and cook pasta. While pasta cooks, heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic to pan and cook about 1 minute. Add tomatoes and salt. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Lower heat and add cooked pasta, mixing well. Remove from heat and add basil, pepper, and Parmesan cheese. Mix well. Serve and enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

