Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Chicken Stuffed with Parmesan & Basil

October 15, 2010

I was talking with my mom the other day, and I told her that I keep waiting for life to slow down. However, I realize that with the holidays approaching, this is likely not to happen in the next few months. So, in the meantime, I’m trying to keep up with everything we have going on and still find new and delicious recipes for our family to enjoy and to share with you.

This new recipe is one that was inspired by a delicious meal my friend Christine made when we joined her family for dinner one night. She is an amazing cook and made a dish of Parmesan cheese and basil stuffed chicken with a strawberry glaze/sauce on top. It was amazing! I still need to get the actual recipe from her. However, this particular dish was the inspiration for a dish I made the other night. We didn’t have any strawberries and neither Will nor I wanted to go out to the store, so I decided to improvise and used a can of diced tomatoes on top instead. It was quite good. Tomato, Parmesan, and basil are always a good combination. Give it a try and let me know what you think!

 

Chicken Stuffed with Parmesan and Basil

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon olive oil

2 chicken breasts

2 thick slices of Parmesan cheese

4 basil leaves

Salt and pepper

1 can diced tomatoes

Directions:

Heat olive oil in large oven-proof saute pan over medium heat. Cut a long pocket into each chicken breast, and place Parmesan and basil into center of cut chicken breast. Use a toothpick to close the cut chicken. Add salt and pepper to taste. Place chicken in saute pan, and cook until browned (about 3 to 4 minutes on each side).

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Remove pan from heat and pour diced tomatoes and juice over the chicken. Place in oven for 15 to 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Serve and enjoy!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

