Skip to content

Flavorful Fridays: Nutella Cookies

November 19, 2010

Nutella is one of my favorite things to eat, and I have flirted with the idea of eating it everyday (it’s so yummy spread on a piece of toast for breakfast!). However, I am concerned that if I were to actually do that, I will no longer fit into my clothes. That would not be so good. One thing that is good is that I can still enjoy Nutella in all of its rich, hazelnutty chocolate goodness in moderation. And, because I don’t eat it every day, I can truly savor the times I do eat it.

These Nutella cookies are amazing! They are soft and full of rich flavor from the Nutella and chocolate chips. I made these in the morning, and by the middle of the next day, the entire batch was gone! Print out the recipe and go make them right now! You will be so happy you did!

Nutella  Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Giada de Laurentiis

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup Nutella

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 cup mini chocolate chips (or use chopped toasted hazelnuts)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a mixing bowl cream together the butter, Nutella, sugar, and brown sugar, about 4 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until smooth, about 1 minute. Using a rubber spatula, stir in the flour mixture until just combined. Add the mini chocolate chips (or hazelnuts, if using) and stir until just combined.

Using a tablespoon measure, spoon out the cookie dough onto a cookie sheet, spacing the mounds about 4 inches apart. Use the tines of a fork to flatten the cookie dough. Bake until lightly golden around the edges, about 10 to 12 minutes. Use a spatula to transfer the cookies to a wire rack and let cool. Serve and enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy Althausen permalink
    December 27, 2010 8:24 pm

    Liana,
    I made these cookies and they are some of the best cookies I’ve ever had!

    • Liana permalink*
      January 14, 2011 9:44 am

      Hi Tracy, I’m so glad you like them! They have quickly become my favorite cookie!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate-Hazelnut Thumbprints « Tomatoes and Basil

Leave a Reply

