Skip to content

Chocolate Tiramisu

January 17, 2011

Typically, when we have friends over for dinner, I begin planning our menu the minute the date and time have been set. And, depending on who our company is, I know I either need to stick with the tried and true or I can veer off and try something new. A couple weeks ago, we had some friends over for dinner, and my week had been so busy that I didn’t really have time to plan out our menu. As I searched our cupboards and refrigerator for ingredients that could make something nicer than a bowl of cereal, I realized that I didn’t know how much off the beaten path I could tread with them. I ended up making a quick pasta sauce and baking the pasta, which I knew would be just fine with a nice salad and homemade focaccia, but I was having a really difficult time with what to make for dessert. I looked through nearly ever cookbook I own, trying to find a dessert recipe that would match the time I had to make a dessert with the ingredients in my kitchen. I finally stumbled upon Giada De Laurentiis’ Chocolate Tiramisu. How is it possible that I’ve never made this before?! It ended up being a huge hit with everyone, and it has now earned a spot as one of my go-to desserts. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Chocolate Tiramisu

Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis

Chocolate Zabaglione Ingredients:

1/4 cup whipping cream

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

2/3 cup sugar

2/3 cup dry Marsala

8 large egg yolks

Pinch of salt

Chocolate Zabaglione Directions:

In a small, heavy saucepan, bring the cream just to a simmer over medium-high heat. Remove from the heat and add the chocolate chips. Stir until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Set aside and keep warm.

Fill a large saucepan with enough water to come 2 inches up the sides of the pan, and bring to a simmer. In a large, metal bowl, whisk the sugar, Marsala, egg yolks, and salt to blend. Set the bowl over the saucepan of simmering water (do not allow the bottom of the bowl to touch the water). Whisk the egg mixture constantly until it is thick and creamy and a thermometer inserted into the mixture registers 160 degrees (about 4 minutes). Remove from heat.

Using a large rubber spatula, fold the chocolate mixture into the egg mixture.

Chocolate Tiramisu Ingredients:

1 container mascarpone cheese

3/4 cup whipping cream

1/3 cup sugar

Chocolate Zabaglione, cold (see recipe above)

2-1/2 cups espresso

1 package lady fingers

Chocolate candy bar

Chocolate Tiramisu Directions:

In a large bowl, stir the mascarpone cheese two time or just until smooth (do not overmix or it will become stiff). In a medium mixing bowl, beat the cream and 1/3 cup of the sugar until soft peaks form. Fold the sweetened whipped cream into the mascarpone, then fold in the chocolate zabaglione. Cover and refrigerate.

Lay the lady fingers on a cookie sheet, brushing each one with the espresso. Once they have completely soaked up the espresso, arrange in a single layer along the bottom and sides of a serving dish. Spoon one-third of the mascarpone mixture over the cookies to cover. Repeat the layering of the cookies and mascarpone mixture until all the cookies and mixture are gone. Grate chocolate over the top layer. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Serve and enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 10:58 pm

    Yummm!!! This version of tiramisu looks sooo naughtily delicious =) My first visit to your blog, I’ll be back. I see we like some of the same things – Giada, smitten kitchen, Great minds think alike! =) hehe

    • Liana permalink*
      May 11, 2011 10:20 am

      Hi Tiffany! Have you tried the chocolate tiramisu yet? It’s definitely found a place in my rotation of desserts I make for guests!

Leave a Reply

