Skip to content

Banana Raspberry “Ice Cream”

September 10, 2012

In our effort (Will has been super supportive by doing the “no wheat” thing with me! What a great husband I have!) to completely cut out wheat from our diets, I’ve also cut out processed sugar. Most things that have sugar also have wheat, but I realize that this is about more than just cutting out the wheat and finding ways around it, this whole “no wheat” thing is about getting healthy and clearing my body of the wheat (did you know that our bodies cannot properly break down the hybridized wheat we now eat? It takes our bodies approximately 6 months to clear the wheat out of our bodies! Yikes!). Over the past several months since we began this process, I’ve come to understand that it’s not just changing the foods that I place in my shopping cart, it’s also changing the way I think about food and how that food will help or hurt my body. Sugar is one of those things that makes my tastebuds happy but does not improve my health or add any nutritional value. So, instead of reaching for the Ben & Jerry’s (which I love), instead I’ve found an alternative for those ice cream cravings, especially on those hot summer days.

A friend of mine recently told me that you can make ice cream from frozen bananas. I admit I was extremely skeptical, but I decided to give it a try any way. If you leave the frozen bananas in the food processor long enough, eventually, it will soften and take on the texture of a soft ice cream. Will and I have added frozen berries to the creamed bananas to give it additional flavor. Our favorite is a raspberry-banana mixture. Will wants to try adding some peanut butter or cocoa powder. We haven’t tried it yet, but feel free to give it a whirl–just let me know how it turns out! These could probably also be frozen into popsicles. I hope you enjoy this healthy alternative for something cold and sweet!

 

Banana-Raspberry “Ice Cream”

Ingredients:

3 large bananas, sliced into quarter-sized pieces

3/4 cup frozen raspberries

Directions:

Place cut bananas on a wax-paper lined cookie sheet. Set cookie sheet in freezer until bananas are frozen (approximately 40 minutes). Remove bananas from cookie sheet and put into food processor. Cover, and run food processor until bananas begin to cream and stick together (approximately 4-5 minutes). Add frozen raspberries (or other frozen fruit), and mix until just combined. Serve and enjoy!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

